And So It Begins

So National Novel Writing Month has begun. The goal is to write 50,000 words by the end of November. This has taken up all of my writing time, so I’ll be posting these small blogs once in an awhile, but not much else.

The first part I had to discover was what story did I wanted to write. I have tons of ideas and I thought about revisiting an old science fiction series that I had put on the back burner. I liked the characters and the setting, but the story just wasn’t good enough for me. However, since I was rebuilding the whole story from the bottom up, I changed my mind about starting it this month.

So, I went back to my old tried and true. Some time ago, I had written a fantasy novel Dark Clouds Rising (more on this at a later date), and my plan had always been to return to that world. In fact, two years ago I did, but the story once again faltered. I took a year to develop an outline, and I’ve been working on it in bits and pieces since then.

However, NaNoWriMo seemed like the perfect time to really dig down deep and get something cooking. So, here we go. I’m already ahead of schedule, which has always been part of my plan. It was the same way I approached college: start doing the most you can do from Day One, so when you burnout by exam week, you are buffered in case you mess up on the exams. Well, at least, there is no test at the end of this November.

CJ Staryk

Current Word Count: 3,597

Follow me on Facebook.

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.